If you own a Sports Academy, then choose one option from below.
Sign inClose
Forgot PasswordClose
  • Invalid password

Bayern Munich win eighth successive Bundesliga title

Bayern Munich win eighth successive Bundesliga title

Bayern Munich have been crowned Bundesliga champions for an eighth successive season after a 1-0 win at Werder Bremen.

Bayern’s domination of German football continues as an 11th successive win means Borussia Dortmund can no longer catch them.

It was fitting that Robert Lewandowski’s goal earned the title, with the Poland striker’s 31st league strike of the season enough to see off struggling Bremen – even a red card for Alphonso Davies late on could not sour the evening.

The manner of Bayern’s 29th champonship, with a three-month suspension, will live long in the memory thanks to the scintillating style of play introduced by Hansi Flick, who took over from Niko Kovac in November.

They have been particularly fearsome since the restart last month and on this form will be strong contenders to win the Champions League later this summer.

Borussia Mönchengladbach strengthened their Champions League hopes with a 3-0 win against Wolfsburg.

Jonas Hofman’s two first-half goals put them in command before Lars Stindl made it a comfortable evening.

Elsewhere, Union Berlin beat bottom club Paderborn 1-0 to secure their survival and Europa League hopefuls Freiburg were 2-1 winners over Hertha Berlin.

Source: ESPN

Invalid value